Production Project – Session 2

SonnySixteen Film CC images at Flickr

SUMMARY

Our goal was to make a comedic film while shooting different scenes with the same angle. As the sound designer, I wanted to make music for the film to set the tone for the film and set the pace for each scene.

Role: I was the Sound Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

I want to be able to set the tone of each scene in the film by using music and to be able to set the pace of the scenes as well. I know I will be able to successfully make my goal is that I stay on task and stay on top of the deadline. I am setting this deadline because I want to get better with music and audio. The deadline is November 29th and I think that I will be able to meet this goal if I stay on top of the deadline.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Steve Bartek

Training Source(s)

Project Timeline

  1. Start Pre-Production
  2. Pick Roles
  3. Brainstorm film ideas
  4. Pick the idea
  5. Pick roles
  6. Start Production
  7. Film scenes
  8. Record audio
  9. Start Post-Production
  10. Make the music
  11. Edit the video
  12. Check the final product
  13. Present the film

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The FILM Creation

Skills Commentary

0:01 Sets the tone of the film

0:16 Changes the tone of the film with the change in music

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

One of the ways that I showed problem-solving is when we didn’t have some of the footage and didn’t know if I were going to have enough time to get the music done, I work on some of the music in advance because I knew what the scenes were going to be like.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

One of the ways that I communicated with my team is that I talked to the director about how the music should be or what the sound effects for the film should be like as well.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

The tools that I used for the is the film were a Zoom Handheld recorder, a boom mic for the audio, and GarageBand for the music and the sound effects.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

The way that I developed life and career skills is by practicing using the audio deck and Garageband to get better at the role and how to do the steps more efficiently.

Reactions to the Final Version

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I think that I did pretty good with this film. I think that the audio that I captured was good quality and the music that I made wasn’t bad for the most part. One thing that I would like to change is that I would have liked to have to change the music a little but so that I would match up with the film a bit better but besides that, I think that I did pretty good for the most part.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

One thing that I learned how to do this session what how to set the tone and how to change the music for different scenes in the film to give each scene its own tone. There were a few problems that I have to solve that showed up throughout the process of making this film. One of the problems that I had to solve was the music and the sound effects that I had to use. I didn’t know what to do to set the tone for the film for the first start of Post-production, but a little be later, I started to understand what I needed to do so that I could set the tone of the film and what to do for the sound effects.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammerly

Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *