Almond Milk Production Project – Session 3

betmari Sound wave CC Image@Flickr.com

SUMMARY

Role

Sound Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

The smart goal that I have for this film is that I want to get a better understanding of how music can change the way a scene feels and how to make good sound effects with what I have. I know if I will reach the goal that I want to get to if I can get some good reactions from people who watch the film after it is done. I believe that this goal is achievable if I do my research and try out new things. I am setting this goal because I want to get a better understanding of how sound designers work a bit better.

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Ben Burtt

Training Source(s)

Project Timeline

Jan. 10-14 work on the script and plan out where we are going to shoot

Jan. 18-21 shoot the scenes and record the audio

Jan. 24-28 Make the music for the film as well editing and, do rerecords if needed and dub audio

PRODUCTION – ACTION

Skills Commentary

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1477o7Kz5QuUKwRYWzbdBdH0hmFf2HwFs_W6DhBdtGR0/edit#slide=id.p

Throughout the film, I was trying to make the film seem sadder with the music and to help understand the mood that I wanted to have on the film.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

To make the music for the film I had to work with the Director and the Screenwriter to see what kind of music I should make. The music I think was the hardest part of this session for far. It took me a few days to think about how it should have sounded. I wanted to try to use an instrument that I haven’t used before but after I few days I was able to think of and make a song that would work for the film and I was able to implement that instrument that wanted to be in the film.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

As the Sound Designer, I had to work with the Director and the Screenwriter to see what type of music I needed to make and to know when to have the music start and end. Near the end of the Post-Production, I had used ADR audio to help make the audio sound better in the final film.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

The tools that I had to use this session was when making the film was the audio deck and a boom mic to record audio, and GarageBand for the music in the film.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

During this session of film, I would play video games with my friends, watch some youtube and, just relax when not working on the film. I would also work on homework and I would study for other classes that I had.

Reactions to the Final Version

“Music was good but try to get rid of the static in the ADR audio as well as extending the music”-Bree

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I think that for this session of film I did pretty good. This was the first time in a while that I used ADR audio and I think that it turned out pretty good for the most part. I think that the music that I made was really good.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

One of the things that I learned during this session was how to make the music a bit better to help set the scene for the film. One problem that was shown was the audio. The audio with the boom mic had a buzzing in the background. The way that I solved that problem was to use ADR audio to help reduce the amount of buzzing in the background to make the audio sound clear.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Kyle Manikhoth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *